The Hughes County Courthouse is located in Pierre, South Dakota. 

Pierre was selected as the county seat, and when the state organized in 1889 it was also given the honor as the new capitol city. Learn more on our history page. 

Normal office hours are 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Monday through Friday.


News & Alerts

New Burn Ban Ordinance! 
View Ordinance 2016-04

NWS Grassland Fire Danger Map 
View Grassland Fire Danger Map

Absentees & Register to Vote
View Election Information